How to keep in touch with friends, family with Locket app

0

This widget allows you to have no more than five people in your circle. And they should be the ones you really want to know what they’re doing throughout the day.

We’ve all heard of spring cleaning, but the New Year for me is a time when I like to put my tech away. I unsubscribe from retailer emails, sift through social media contacts, and try to get back to my tech basics. Maybe you’re even taking a complete break from social media. But there are always those close critics you want to stay close with. In fact, you love being interrupted throughout the day with their selfies letting you know they’re eating an ice cream cone or about to take a nap.

Locket Widget is a new iOS app that you can download and use with these people to see their live photos right on your home screen. Locket was at the top of the App Store‘s free apps for much of the past week and would be best used with a small group of girlfriends, siblings, a significant other, or your immediate family.

It’s free and simple to download, just ask for your phone number and access your contacts and camera. Then you add the widget to your home screen by tapping on any app and choosing Edit Home Screen. Tap the + in the upper left corner of your screen and search for Medallion. All the photos you and your loved ones share with the app will instantly appear in the 2×2 window. You can see the photo you receive without even opening an app.

Locket has no bells and whistles, with the ability to use the front or rear camera and a flash as the only features. It is not possible to use filters, edit, draw on the photo or add text or emojis of any kind. You can’t even upload photos from your camera roll; you can only share the ones taken with Locket’s camera. To take a photo, tap anywhere on the widget.

You have the option of adding up to five people to your group and you are currently only allowed one group. Many people in reviews have asked for the possibility of having different groups, and Locket says that might happen in the future. But for now, it is only for a very narrow circle of people.

Any photo you choose to share immediately appears on other people’s home screens. And remember it takes up two inches of the home screen, so you need to make sure that any photo you send won’t be inappropriate for someone else in case they take a peek. .

The app saves all photos so you can scroll through old ones at any time. You have the option to delete selected old photos from your Locket app, but you have no choice to delete them from someone else’s. Again, make sure this photo won’t mind your friends having as long as they want; there is no way to take it back. And know that any photo can be saved, sent or shared to anyone and any social platform.

Locket’s privacy policy states that the only reason it asks for your contact list is to make it easy for you to find the friends you want to add. They don’t save your contacts and won’t message your friends, but you need to allow access to your contact list in order to use the app.

Something to keep in mind when sending these Live Photos to those around you is that Locket’s terms of service state that you are granting them a license to use your content. This means Locket can use any of the photos you share on the app for its own publicity or any other way it wants.

App developer Matt Moss came up with the idea for Locket for his girlfriend. He told TechCrunch he was trying to find a way for them to stay in touch when she left for college and they were faced with a long-distance relationship. The TikTok he posted about the app has nearly 800,000 views so far and others have started posting their own Locket videos using the same song “I Love You So” by The Walters.

After extensive research, I couldn’t find anything comparable for Android users, but Moss told TechCrunch that an Android version will be coming at some point.

For now, choose your super private group and try Locket. And as always, be careful what you post.


Source link

Share.

Comments are closed.